School Logo

Our Curriculum




"At Cheddar First School and Pre School, we believe in keeping every child at the heart of everything we do. Our creative and holistic approach will inspire a love of learning through a diverse and rich curriculum, preparing them to fulfil their future dreams" 



The Early Years Foundation Stage provides the standards that all settings must follow to make sure all children learn and develop well. Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework - GOV.UK (


Working within the Early Years Foundation Stage, we provide opportunities for the children to develop an awareness of the world in which we live by interacting, questioning, and sharing.


The EYFS comprises of seven areas of learning. These are:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


Our curriculum is a combination of everything we do in our day to day practise. Children in all rooms play inside and outside supported in different ways to create a balance of opportunities. Adults support children’s own interests within the provision to extend and develop learning, sometimes adults lead the learning to help children learn new knowledge and skills. Children regularly use our forest school space, a way to introduce challenge and risk taking through activities like climbing, bug hunting, den building and mud kitchen play. Visitors, and hands on learning such has watching caterpillars turn into butterflies or cooking, add to the interest and engagement of children in their learning. Partnership with parents is vital so we share information in our relationships and learning news on Tapestry.  


You can read our curriculum documents to find out more detail about what we champion in our offer at Cheddar First Preschool.